Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (99)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Good (80)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Master of Commercial Law @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on March 30, 2015

One of the best impressions is about the availability of the resources to support students' research. I can easily find every material I need in my paper; therefore, I learn better and more effective. Professors are very knowledgable and helpful.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (76)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (71)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (97)
Icon-campus Campus: Not good (39)

DDS Dental Surgery @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on September 7, 2014

Great uni for the course. unfortunately just being based at hospital means you don't experience the university.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (76)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Not good (43)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc Science @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on May 19, 2014

The transition into university was a lot easier than I expected. Everything is very "step-by-step" in Melbourne University. There are always 5 other places you can go to to get help if not your lecturers. I love the Melbourne Model, which lets you keep your options open for much longer. This is very important for people who don't know what they want to do yet (I assume this should be the majority of people). The classroom-like tutorials for each subject boosts my learning by at least 40%. With regards to making friends, it's not easy. Most people are NOT there to make friends. You have to reach out to people; join clubs, etc. The easiest way is to be part of a residential college (which thankfully I am). If I were to rate the social aspects according to my experience with the college, it would be "awesome". Otherwise, it is not uncommon for people to not make friends until 2nd or 3rd year of uni.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (90)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (89)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (92)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Biomedicine @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on May 5, 2014

The environment as well as the education here is better than where I am from, mainly because we are allowed the flexibility of taking the subjects that we want to study. Since coming to melbourne, I have made many wonderful friends and am being exposed to a differnt culture which is always good for us individuals to grow as a person. Overall, I believe that change is constant and in my case, change is good.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (76)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (65)
Icon-social Social: OK (48)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc Science @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 24, 2014

First year studying at university, not a bad experience overall. Have a few friends from high school to sit and social with during lectures or during breaks and day-offs. Otherwise, haven't really made any new friends apart from people in my engineering project group. Sometimes studying at the library is pretty unreal, downloading shows on laptop using uni wifi while listening to bangers and doing work. Learning a new language is pretty awesome too, French is a pretty smooth language to pick up as a breadth subject. It would totally expand my social network to another level. Day to day activity starting to become a routine, study, eat, socialise, and sleep, that is about it really, oh and occasionally clubbing at times to have some fun times. Overall, first year at Melbourne university is not that bad at all, assignments are not too bad at the moment. However, exams coming up are a totally different story.

  • 1958058_10153997708270195_1003728103_n
  • 1901207_10153923354970195_942298750_n
  • 1551471_10153883759750195_1879607283_n
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc Science @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 24, 2014

I absolutely love the University of Melbourne. It is such a welcoming and vibrant university. I only began university recently, and was very nervous to begin, but after only a few weeks I fit right into place as the people - both staff and students - were extremely kind and inviting. The staff are exceptional, the lectures and tutes have been so interesting and I enjoy going to university. The campus itself is very large, there are lots of different faculties and there's plenty of good places to eat and drink coffee. If you want to eat something off campus, you just have to step out of campus and there are may different places, we are right in the heart of the city, located near to Melbourne Central. The ambiance and Melbourne is amazing and I recommend this university to everyone. Melbourne uni is about diversity and different people come together and work together to achieve their goals.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (90)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (91)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BCom Commerce @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 23, 2014

First Year Commerce student at Melbourne. I loved the variety of subjects on offer and actually like the idea of making it compulsory to take 4-6 subjects throughout your degree from outside the commerce faculty. It really gives you an opportunity to open your mind.

The administrative help is fantastic, and necessary, seeing as there is so much to know and remember. I felt that the process leading up to actually going to uni was pretty poor in terms of communication and explanation (especially the subject selection, which was both foreign to everyone and the layout of the subject organised on the website was shocking). Luckily I received the help I needed.

Love most of my subjects bar one, coming down to a lecturer who doesn't fully appreciate the fact that we are first year students and the academic learning model and content is foreign. Plus my accompanying tutor provides little additional support. But this is a select example - everyone else teaching me is great, as I hear from everyone else.

There are so many social opportunities that I can barely make any of them! Such a shame, but the variety is grand and there's a club or event to suit everyone. Prices seem to be really fair as well, which helps.

Must say, no one is a fan of the political extremist parading their demands in the busiest part of the uni. Whist I support free speech, I don't support bombarding and brainwashing of others, nor the disturbance of other people. I'd like the uni to get on top of that, as do many others.

Whilst the undergrad-postgrad American system is nerve-racking (I plan to do a JD), I do believe that it will pay off, as the uni takes on students who are most capable for a post-grad and teaches them to a higher level (there's a reason why UoM excels in Law). However, I would hate all of my hard work to not lead me to a law degree at Melbourne, especially seeing I could have completed a bachelor of law at Monash with my score. I also really despise the ridiculous fees for a law postgrad (how am I going to pay $110k+ if I don't get a Commonwealth Support placement?)

Study ares can at times be hard to find, particularly during peak periods. But there's always a quiet spot somewhere if you look (though it can be time consuming)

Overall, I love the uni, despite it's pitfalls. Would recommend to most (though the structured undergrad-postgrad system won't suit all, and for some courses, such as engineering, I would pick another uni over melbourne uni (RMIT for engineering, if you were interested)).

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (90)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (83)
Icon-social Social: Good (84)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Biomedicine @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 22, 2014

the coursework is so difficult but everyone here is really nice. also, it's very convenient in terms of transport and it's near a lot of foodspots!

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (73)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: OK (59)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (68)

BA Arts @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 21, 2014

i thought my course would be more fulfilling but for the meanwhile, it's alright. it's good that i have my mates with me so the transition from high school to university hasn't been that difficult.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (93)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Good (72)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (92)

BFA Fine Arts (Contemporary Music) @ The University of Melbourne

reviewed on April 20, 2014

I study composition at the VCA and the staff and campus are ideal in guiding the path you which yo undertake. The whole place just has the right vibe for individuals to grow and be mentored by the appropriate people.

It is important that a university is culturally open and since I'm from Singapore there has been a never ending exchange of collaborations between both cultures through music. This is vital as we need to be innovative and start to collaborate. That is what university is for. It is a platform to dare and dream. To become and realize. That is why we go to uni.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
The%20university%20of%20melbourne-header
Google Map - The University of Melbourne
City Melbourne, Australia
Established 1853
No. of Students 45000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (85)

Average Rating based on 22 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (84)
Icon-social Social: Good (74)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (89)